PDA

View Full Version : Relationship between timing and increased Fuel

LBZoom
February 14th, 2009, 04:53 AM
Hey guys,
I'm still fairly new to this stuff, I've been messing with it for close to a year now and I have the basics down pretty well I feel. I do have a question though in regards to increasing or decreasing injection timing based on increased fuel delivery via pulse width....is there a simple way to figure how much to adjust timing based on what percentage you increase fuel delivery by? For example, let's say I increased injector pulse in the 3,000-4,000RPM range by 30% (this would be a big tune for me because I've got a stock tranny and fuel pump)....How much should I increase timing? Or decrease?

Below 3,000 RPM's I may increase pulse by 5-15% depending on the purpose of the tune (daily driving, towing, or racing) what would be an appropriate adjustment for this kind of increase? How about for the RPM range used for cruising, would an increase in timing help fuel economy?

What would I do in the event that either the pilot or post injections were disabled?

I've experimented with increasing timing before and noticed some difference, just wondering if I'm doing it right....Thanks for the help guys!!!:cheers:

DmaxHawk
February 14th, 2009, 06:09 AM
Thats the million dollar question. Timing is the thing that most people struggle with the most. Timing not only has to do with fuel delivery but also boost. This might give you a little step in the right direction.
http://www.dieselplace.com/forum/showthread.php?t=265723

herculesduramax
February 14th, 2009, 09:48 PM