PDA

View Full Version : CTS-V with a LS2 and maggie

ThunderV
March 7th, 2009, 08:11 AM
I am just about to install a Magneson SuperCharger on the V. I am going to attempt to do the tune myself but I would like a good starting point for the base tune.

I have done some searches but I have had no success. Since I am a rookie at this I would like to start with a Base tune so that I am not too far off.

Any advice would be appreciated on this one and thanks in advance.

The Alchemist
March 10th, 2009, 10:28 AM
not being rude here but i think you're very brave ....don't the Magnesons come with a flash tune device with a "base tune" or is that only for the LS1's. Personally I would go to a good tuner and get a good base tune done. If you ask nicely he may even let you watch and show you a few pointers during the tune to get you started. Tuning a supercharged engine as a "rookie" is a big ask mate.
Mike

ThunderV
March 10th, 2009, 11:24 AM
I am hoping a "good" tuner could do something a little better than a baseline.

I understand it is a big task and that is why I was hoping someone had a good baseline to start with. I was thinking about tuning it myself to get a little experience but to remap the ECM for the first time for a supercharger would be a bit much.

My plan was:
- Get a Baseline tune
- Adjust the map to try and optimize it for a run down the street
- Go to a professional and have it dyno tuned (Final tune I hope)

I appreciate your advice and I understand your concerns. If I decided to give up every time someone said this is a big task and you shouldn't do it I wouldn't be writing software for Semiconductor equipment.

I realize this is a completely different beast but I believe I can do it and I plan to. I was just hoping someone had a tune out there for a LS2 that I could use to start with. If I had the Magneson tune I wouldn't be asking for a baseline here.