PDA

View Full Version : getting started ( a question)

A.O.A
April 11th, 2009, 03:27 AM
Dear EFI LIVE (Road Runner)
this is my first time HERE and I am really LOST,,,,
I had a Training on AUTOTRONIC and MOTECH, and what Ive understood by using EFI LIVE that I don;t need to install a new ECU. my problem is that Ive downloaded the demo software and going to purchase it ,, but what I don;t know is shall I just buy an OBD 2 cable and a 9-pin to USB converter and plug it in my LAP top and start tuning?? or mapping the FUEL and TIMING MAP??
and I own a garage with a dyno and want to start tuning for OEM ECU customer's cars which tool shall I use only the software??...i am really lost in here, I hope that I am asking my question in the correct place otherwise please redirect me thanks a lot..:fluffy:

ScarabEpic22
April 11th, 2009, 05:05 AM
Welcome to the site man!

When you purchase EFILive you are purchasing the hardware and software needed to tune your cars. No generic cable will work with it, you need the FlashScan V1 or V2 hardware to make it work. You cannot plug a USB cable to OBDII directly into your computer, you'll have major problems. You do not swap PCM/ECM/TCMs, just read the stock OEM file and make adjustments to that and reflash it back in.

A.O.A
April 11th, 2009, 06:47 AM
Thanks a lot Man!!
sorry to ask one more question!!
what about the license ?? the V2 works on all cars so I just have to buy a workshop license or shall I buy a workshop license for each type of car!??!
thanks a lot

joecar
April 11th, 2009, 07:13 AM
Welcome A.O.A... :)

To connect to the supported vehicles you will need the EFILive FlashScan hardware/cable (FlashScan V1 or V2 depending on what vehicles you want to read/write), see this for what vehicles are supported:
http://www.efilive.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=100&Itemid=82

The software is free (the demo you have is the actual software ).