PDA

View Full Version : Sudden drop in APCYL_DMA at 5500rpm

rhit_rs
April 20th, 2009, 01:56 PM
First off, I'll say I'm relatively new to EFILive. I've been tuning with it for about a week now (bought it from wait4me about 4 months ago). The car is an 07 solstice with the LE5 (2.4L w/ E67 ecm) engine with an m62 and LSJ intake manifold and intercooler setup. Now to the problem:

Tuning the VVE and spark tables has been easy enough (especially once I took out the cat protection). I'm used to tuning GM tbi and tpi systems, so the VVE table makes me feel right at home :). The one problem I haven't been able to sort out is a sudden drop in the APCYL_DMA parameter (air in grams per each cylinder as I understand it) that happens at 5500 rpm and the subsequent jump in AFR, which I'm assuming is a result of the lower cylinder filling that the ECU thinks is occurring, when each cylinder is actually still consuming just as much. I've checked all of the parameters in the tune file looking for 5500 rpm, but the only parameter I've been able to track down is the Operating Zone RPM boundaries (B8020), the highest value of which is 5500 (my modification). On the stock tune, this value was 4200 rpm, but data logging the stock engine did not reveal the same event at 4200. Does anyone have any thoughts on why this is happening/what could be causing it? Am I onto something with the B8020 table? How does the ecu calculate the APCYL_DMA? I would think it should be the maf reading divided by rpm/60 divided by 2 since only 2 cylinders are drawing air per each revolution. This comes out to be about 1.01-1.03 for the entire pull.

I've attached a log file of what is happening. There were no sharp changes in the VVE table at 5500 - it was nice and smooth there. I've found other ways to compensate for the drop in grams/cyl, but I'd like to get to the bottom of why the ecu thinks the cylinders aren't filling as well as they really are!