PDA

View Full Version : Any Linux Developers?

Blacky
May 7th, 2009, 07:28 AM
Given that right now we don't have time to develop a Linux port of EFILive, I'd like to find out if there are any Linux software developers here that would be interested in developing "proof of concept" software.

The software would provide the same features as EFILive_Hapi. It wouldn't necessarily need to be a GUI app (but bonus points if it is), just a background daemon that implements the EFILive HAPI (Hardware Application Programming Interface).

It would need to use the Linux drivers for the FTDI chip available from www.ftdichip.com (http://www.ftdichip.com).

The EFILive HAPI spec will be available to third party developers, one it has been documented .

I don't know where it might end up, but there's no harm in exploring the option... Any takers?

Regards
Paul

joecar
May 7th, 2009, 07:47 AM
Paul, I'm a linux driver developer (among other things)...

I could try it if it's not too daunting a task... (at the moment my schedule is pretty tight)... or I could at the very least help out.

I know how to use stdlib but I don't know how to use the graphical interface(s).

C is my language.

redhardsupra
May 7th, 2009, 09:35 AM
I'm a linux... a lot of things? i've done some very basic kernel stuff, but mostly reside in the userland. what do you need done?

Stealth97
May 7th, 2009, 11:34 AM
I'm a Linux newbie currently running Ubuntu .

I'd be willing to help test using Linux. I have a bench harness for PCM's and EFI Live sitting right here. Can test it with the laptop, all good, then test with the PC.

Looks like interest is piling up.

Maybe one day I'll meet joecar and he will teach me a thing or two.

joecar
May 7th, 2009, 12:57 PM
...Maybe one day I'll meet joecar and he will teach me a thing or two.We'll do that...:cheers:

swingtan
May 7th, 2009, 03:56 PM
I found a bug in the HP-UX port of GNU Core Utils, does that count for anything????