PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Pressure Question - Missing Tables?

Jack_the_Diesel_Killer
May 16th, 2009, 04:24 AM
Hello Everyone

Complete noob to Efilive though I do have engine tuning experience. I did search the forums before posting so I hope that everyone will have a little patience if I am asking the obvious.
Downloaded the software and have been going through the tables trying to make sense of it all. While there is a ton of stuff there, once you figure out the way GM does things it is pretty straight forward.

The question is this - How is commanded/desired fuel pressure converted into a signal that the pump can understand?

The obvious answer is table B1010, but I don't think so, at least it can't work without some questionable math assumptions. I'll lay out my reasoning below and try not to bore everyone to death.
The inlet metering valve on the pump is pulse width modulated. Varying duty cycles produce different fuel flow rates. Parameters B1008 and B1009 show that this is in fact the case. The problem comes in when trying to convert flow to pressure. Table B1010 deals with flow, not pressure. Given rpm we can easily convert mm3/stroke to mm3/sec. Still doesn't tell us pressure. Since rail pressure is the difference between the rate at which fuel is going in as opposed to fuel going out - to the injectors - the only way that table B1010 can be used to command a specific pressure is if they assume that any given injector PW ( tables B0720 and B0721 ) will create a given pressure, all other variables being constant.