PDA

View Full Version : Dead Battry after reflash?

kbracing96
September 30th, 2005, 05:49 AM
I'm pretty new to tuning and have only been messing with my truck for a few days. I have only reflashed it 2 times. Once for some shifting stuff and once to change the timing table around. Both times where in the evening and I started it up and took if for a 15-20 min drive after. Then the next day I go out and try to start it and when I open the door, I hear a faint clicking noise like a relay clicking every few seconds and the battery is almost stone dead. I put the truck on the charger and charge it up and get it running, drive it around and it is fine. Battery doesn't go dead. Has anyone ever had this problem? The battery is only 3 months old and the truck only has 36,000 miles on it even though it is a 01. The charging system on the truck checks out and there is nothing added onto it the should drain the battery. Seem to only happen after I reflash the pcm. Any ideas? Thanks.

SSpdDmon
September 30th, 2005, 06:50 AM
Any chance you left something on? I've only had that happen to me once and that was a bit extreme. I forgot I had left the ignition in the run position while I was making several changes (5mins worth), somehow my headlights were manually turned on (middle of the day and don't know how/why), the radio was on, and under-hood temps were high (>80*F out that day). After I flashed in my changes, I turned the car off for the 15 seconds. Needless to say, my battery was done. Worst of all, this was in the staging lanes at the dragstrip. Gotta love that one. What makes it even better was the fact that my friend jumpped me, but I had to keep my foot on the gas to keep it running....and I still made my pass. 8) I can honestly say I learned my lesson. Anyway, your 3-month-old battery should last a lot longer than my 3-year-old one. I'd keep an eye one the other stuff and make sure you minimize the time you have the key in the run position without the engine running.