PDA

View Full Version : GETTING some HP from a stock Gen-IV V8

A.O.A
June 5th, 2009, 04:11 PM
Hi there all...
I got a Gen-IV V8 2008 GMC sierra 2500 HD truck (stock), and I want to get some more HP from it, well I am totally new to use the EFILIVE tune, and I am thinking of changing the TIMING, and when I went to the Spark menu i got LOST!! i don;t know what to change!!so anyone can help me to kick up my truck's HP !!! thanks a lot :angel_innocent:

Baldric
June 6th, 2009, 01:51 PM
you want to change your high octane table you really need a dyno as ive been down this road its rather hard to hit mbt on the street to many variables basically what ive found/been advised you need a dyno and really need to work on a group of cells and adjust them minimally bit by bit until you get a knock/yoru ect goes up higher than normal

A.O.A
June 6th, 2009, 05:46 PM
Thanks Baldric...
well actually I own a Dyno...but can u guide me where to find and change the variables in EFILIVE tune?!?!? thnx a lot

Baldric
June 6th, 2009, 06:24 PM
LOL mate ive never ever used a dyno so i have no idea but what ive been told/read is you basicaly tune it to get MBT then you will/should see if you go further than MBT your ECT (coolant temp) will go up as you've reached the max the engine can (safely) produce after that you will get high ECT temps and will introduce knock/pinging

I think thats the way it goes

Baldric
June 6th, 2009, 06:24 PM
have you done AutoVE yet ?

JezzaB
June 6th, 2009, 08:08 PM
you want to change your high octane table you really need a dyno as ive been down this road its rather hard to hit mbt on the street to many variables basically what ive found/been advised you need a dyno and really need to work on a group of cells and adjust them minimally bit by bit until you get a knock/yoru ect goes up higher than normal

MBT is usually a long way from Knock Retard and when you are doing load points on a dyno you will find your ECT will go up no matter what you do.