PDA

View Full Version : how to control startup RPM

acric5
July 17th, 2009, 02:57 PM
I installed a 95mm throttle body on a c5 a4,
at cold start up the rpm goes to 2500 and comes back to 600.

I'd like like to reduce that start up rpm to 1500,
is there a table for that?

thanks
bill

LS1_Dragster
July 17th, 2009, 04:02 PM
First, I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination so take this accordingly.

With my 454 in the firebird I had a real bad issue with this and 2 things helped. 1) it was lean when it started and I found when it was lean the RPM's would shoot up then surge for a bit then settle down, more after start enrichment helped a ton. 2) airflow parked was too high with the aftermarket throttle body and by reducing this number it also helped.

Also, I found that if the idle screw it too far opened or even closed will cause the computer to over compensate. I monitored the IAC value until it was around 5-10 at idle and hot. I also found that turning off the car before making the idle adjustment seems to work better for some reason.

I don't know enough about what year/computer/operating systems to tell you were to go but find them and it should help.

Lee

acric5
July 18th, 2009, 12:31 AM
thanks for the response,

I'm very new so please indulge my ignorance.

In LS1Edit there is a setting called Throttle Scale which I cant find in EFILive,

Also in one of the post on the forum someone referred to Idle Stepper Motor Park which I cant find either.

Perhaps someone knows how these are defined in my 2002 corvette LS6

Would, Engine Calibration/Fuel/Commanded Fuel When Cranking, limit the rpm at cold start up?

thanks
bill

LS1_Dragster
July 18th, 2009, 03:33 AM
In my OS which may be different then yours but it's B4308 and B3632, the cranking setting wont help. Also if it has a high idle then B4307 too.

Lee

mr.prick
July 18th, 2009, 03:43 AM
{B4307} can make RPM soar at cold start.
I had a shop "tune" my car before I had EFILive and this table