PDA

View Full Version : Pilot Inections..off or on??

lubeman1969
August 24th, 2009, 03:00 PM
Can you guys chime in and tell me what are the benefits and or disadvantages of turning off your pilots? I have read some threads on it here and other places and cant quite get ahold of what Im looking to answer. I do understand it will be louder and possibly run rougher than normal. But, is it bad for your injectors? Someone also mentioned that post injection on the LBZ is useless?? Help me understand better...easy...Im new to this tuning stuff!!

DmaxHawk
August 24th, 2009, 03:06 PM
Dont think it would be bad for the injectors its just opening for one less interval. Post injection is used mainly for emissions. IIRC It is designed to reduces nox gasses. I have noticed that the truck sounds a little throatier with the post injection disabled.

lubeman1969
August 24th, 2009, 03:11 PM
Ok...thinking back, arent there only 2 tables for post injection?? Would I just zero these out? As far as emissions go, that means it will smell more at idle if I turn off the post injection? A mileage tune I downloaded off of DP has the P.I. turned off and I wondered what benefit this would be to mileage.

DmaxHawk
August 24th, 2009, 03:13 PM
Thats correct just zero them out. I havent noticed any more smell. Yes it would benefit mileage a bit. Since it is used after the expansion, it is basically wasting fuel.

lubeman1969
August 24th, 2009, 03:20 PM
Ok I'll do that..sounds like you have yours turned off already. If you have a minute when tooling around, will you list the table #'s for me...and are there others to change or only the ones dealing with post injection? Sorry to ask so many questions...Im so anxious to get more knowledgeable with this programming. I usually get head over heels with anything for my vehicles!!

DmaxHawk
August 24th, 2009, 03:23 PM
Tables are B9301 and B9302. Asking questions is always welcomed here, its a great way to learn new things

lubeman1969