PDA

View Full Version : 97 Vette big cam idle surge (first post to forum too )

oldvette
September 4th, 2009, 11:37 AM
Hi Everyone been surfing the forum for years some great info here and thanks to u guys down under! anyway just finished my new motor and am having a few small issues that i thought you could help with! and u guessed it idle and surging.
Engine specs are 11.3.1 comp, solid roller cam int 632/236 ext 637/240 113 lsa ls6 intake, ported & polished throttle body with 2 1/8 holes drilled. motor is built to take 350 plus shot but need to get the little bugs fixed first.
am including a idle and a short drive scan and the tune in it now.

Thanks for taking a look and any help u might have!

LS1_Dragster
September 4th, 2009, 12:46 PM
I'm no expert so I can only tell you what helps me.

I run 35 degress timing for idle and more at cruise then drop it down at WOT. You can see in your log that the timing is all over the place and every time the idle goes up it because the timing is up. I would just make the timing as stable and as much as the car likes.

Look at my tune for our dragster and you'll get the idea. Obviosly I wouldnt recomend this timing map for stock engines....

Also, your TPS needs adjusment. I think you've probably cranked your idle set screw to get it to idle. You need to back this back down, get the timing up and add air to the IAC.

Way too rich when on the throttle too.

Lee

LS1_Dragster
September 4th, 2009, 01:00 PM
also, what size injectors? Your fuel map looks like this is a WOT setup, do you drive it on the road often?

I would also turn off the idle control stuff B5934, 5, 6

98 tigershark
September 4th, 2009, 03:32 PM