PDA

View Full Version : V2 Basics

All-Star
September 23rd, 2009, 04:04 AM
I am new to efi live and have been reading forums and familiarizing my self with the V2 software and am having trouble with the basics. I have a 2000 Z28 that we bought with a nitrous tune already installed. I am mainly just trying to adjust the timing for starters. My problem is getting the changes from my calibration tables to the PCM. I just want to change the timing on the General Spark table. I made the adjustments and saved the tune. Then I pressed the Flash calibration key and it went through all the procceses but made no changes to Horse power on the Dyno. I have Full access to a Mustang Dyne, and is where i am doing all my testing. I feel i am missing a step. Do i need to build maps on the Scan tool in order to change my tune. any help or direction would be greatly appreciated...:help2:

mr.prick
September 23rd, 2009, 04:22 AM
Just because you didn't see any change horsepower
does not mean the tune didn't change.
You don't need maps to make changes to the tune,
they are part of the whole package in order to make meaningful changes.
If you are not seeing any increase in power the tune may be all it can be.

Also don't be surprised if logged spark does not match exactly
what you want to command.
If you have not already, read the scan & tune manuals and the other
documentation located in C:\Program Files\EFILive\V7.5\Doc

All-Star
September 23rd, 2009, 04:39 AM
the timing was set at 20 deg advance above 2800rpm, we made adjustments back to what a NA car should be at like 34-36 deg. just from general knowledge about tuning we expected to see a fairly significant change... and saw none. so i was uncertain that the tune was actually flashed to the pcm...

mr.prick
September 23rd, 2009, 04:53 AM
Read the PCM (Ctrl+PgUp) green arrow then compare to the tune you
previously uploaded, to see if there is no difference.

All-Star
September 23rd, 2009, 06:36 AM