PDA

View Full Version : 5.7 vortec overheated

doubleb
October 5th, 2009, 01:30 PM
newbie here. i just bought a 2003 jetboat with only a hundred hours. the previous owner forgot to open the valve to let water in the engine. once overheated the idiot opened the valve and let the cold water in. it is a vortec 350 roller motor the only thing that makes it marine is the intake and exhaust and waterpump block off. the head gasket was blown apart by the steam i am guessing. I had the heads magnafluxed and decked just to make sure. they were fine. i am leary on the block. it looks fine, i see no cracks. the cylinders still have the factory swirl marks. it did push the freeze plug out though. could that have saved the block? were would this block crack if it were going to. any info would be apprieciated. p.s the oil looks super clean. there was a little milkiness in the lifter valley but i think that was from all the steam.

tokymon
October 6th, 2009, 06:46 AM
most like to crack between the center cylinders they get the hottest

there is some products for checking this i dont know any off the top of my head right not though:confused:

hog
October 10th, 2009, 02:04 AM
Ithought the marine Vortec 350's got different main bearing clearances?

peace
Hog

doubleb
October 10th, 2009, 03:55 AM
I talked to indmar the people who put it together and they told me that they just buy crate engines and put there stuff on it

hog
October 10th, 2009, 09:16 AM
I talked to indmar the people who put it together and they told me that they just buy crate engines and put there stuff on it
Nice, thanks for the info.

peace
hog

THEFERMANATOR
October 10th, 2009, 09:36 AM