PDA

View Full Version : Interfacing OBD-1 to RS232C (via MAX232)

markrbarker
December 30th, 2009, 03:48 AM
Hi, I've searched around the Forum for quite a while, but I hadn't been able to find an answer, so here I am asking for help please. I'm a newbie.

EFILive Eval Version, Win98, laptop pc c/w serial port

Question: Is there a schematic available to make an interface between OBD-1 and a standard RS232 port?

I understand a MAX232 is involved, that's OK, but I'm not completely understanding a loopback function going on that's required by EFILive, otherwise I would use this interface as a basis: http://www.techedge.com.au/vehicle/aldl8192/8192hw.htm

I can see from the above circuit a loopback going on at pin 'M'

Is this circuit suitable ?

Or should I really ought to be trying to buy this hardware from EFILive online store? :-)

joecar
December 30th, 2009, 09:11 AM
Hi Mark,

I moved this to the V4 (OBD-I) section.

I pm'd Tech Support for more info.

Cheers
Joe
:)

Tordne
December 30th, 2009, 09:34 AM
The link you posed (http://www.techedge.com.au/vehicle/aldl8192/8192hw.htm) is correct, and is actually noted on the EFILive V4 product page on our website :)

We also recommend this cable (http://www.moates.net/product_info.php?cPath=49&products_id=127) from one of our resellers, Moates Ware (maker of the RoadRunner PCM).

markrbarker
January 1st, 2010, 02:07 AM
Many thanks for link for recommended cable (http://www.moates.net/product_info.p...roducts_id=127) I see it's got a mode selector '10K' switch included, and it's a USB interface which is great for laptops without COM ports as many are nowdays.

But I'm afraid I couldn't wait for one of these to be mailed to me, so yesterday I'd built myself a cable on a bit of matrix board, based on the above circuit. The EFILive software seems quite happy with it, there are no loopback errors.