PDA

View Full Version : New with EFI help

duramax07tmd
February 11th, 2010, 03:30 PM
Hey guys, Im new to the EFI world. I recently sold my caned tuner and wanted to get in to the real deal tuning for my Duramax. I have a few questions.

Since i have a macbook pro, I have been told that I can run bootcamp on my mac to run the windows software so I will be able to tune my truck. My question is, what version of windows works best and the easiest to use EFI for my mac? Windows XP? Vista? or Windows 7?

Also is there any EFI tuners in North Carolina?

Any tips or suggestion for me using my mac to run windows and EFI would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Trace

joecar
February 11th, 2010, 05:44 PM
Hi Trace,

Welcome to the forum...:cheers:

My $0.02 says WinXP.

I use Boot Camp to boot WinXP natively on my MacBook Pro... EFILive software works fine with it (scanning, logging, DVT, flashing).

First, install Boot Camp under Mac OSX, then read the Boot Camp pdf document carefully (especially how to eject a disc after the Windows install has finished)...

Boot Camp asks you how to split your hard disk and which OS to default to on power up (can be overriden by holding down the Alt key during power up).

TAQuickness
February 11th, 2010, 10:59 PM
Welcome to the forum Trace.

+1 on XP.

ScarabEpic22
February 11th, 2010, 11:39 PM
I would normally agree XP, but if you can do W7 then do it! W7 is to Vista what XP is to ME (for those who remember, ME was 100x worse than Vista and had a much shorter lifespan).

duramax07tmd
February 12th, 2010, 01:13 AM
Ok, thanks guys! I really appreciate it.

LBZoom
February 13th, 2010, 03:34 PM
I run mine on Vista and have had no problems at all, what part of North Carolina are you in? I'm in eastern TN, just this side of the Smokies from NC, near Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge area.

Biodiesel66
February 14th, 2010, 12:51 PM