PDA

View Full Version : cant validate rafig pids

rpmauto
March 17th, 2010, 06:11 PM
Hello all,
I have been having trouble tuning the idle in a friends vette with a 402. For some reason i just cant get the long term and short term idle correction pids to validate to do the rafig process. I have read till my eyes bleed. I have tried validating pids while connected to the vehicle. I can log the idle airflow correction, but that wont do any good without the short and long terms to factor into it. The car runs good other than idle, and sometimes wants to die on a rev. This is the first dbw car i have messed with. Really the only car i have done this much to. We started from scratch on a stock tune. The mail order tune he had was garbage. Can anybody shed some light on how to get this pids to validate?? I will try it on my car as soon as i can (98 t/a with a 402) just to see if they are valid on that system.

Thank you for any help, go easy i am a mechanic, not so much a computer guy.

Tordne
March 17th, 2010, 09:31 PM
Doing the 'Validate Modules' and 'Validate PIDs' should be all that is needed. The other thing that would be "interesting" is if you go to the 'File->Enter VIN' menu option and enter/select the OS # of your friends vehicle (when not connected to the vehicle). Then see if the PIDs show as valid.

Also check that the software is the latest release (at time of this post 7.5.6 Build 107). You can download if from here: http://forum.efilive.com/showthread.php?t=13140

Cheers,

rpmauto
March 18th, 2010, 01:40 AM
I will try that and let you know how it goes. I have not updated the software since i got it last spring (09).

rpmauto
March 18th, 2010, 02:12 AM
just remembered that when he got car he sent out for the "mail ordre tune" That ended up being a complete operating systme reflash. Since we did a full reflash back to stock every once in a while I get a vin mismatch prompt on tune tool startup. Could this be the demon i am fighting??

mr.prick