PDA

View Full Version : Boost with a 1bar map sensor

franckrem
March 29th, 2010, 02:36 PM
Hi I'm really new to the GM stuff (in my shop we mostly do mustang and honda) so please don't fame me I'm a real newbie. I have done a lot of reading but its not all clear.

We started experimenting on a trailblaser ss E67 with a magnacharger on it and I would like to ask some question

How come on a GM there is several tune for blowers application that dosent require a 2bar map sensor?

How can you adjust the VE table If you only half of it?

Is this the Maf that do the work at wot ?

Is there a way to use only the maf and no map like on a ford ?

Why dose the maf is separate between low and hi? How do the computer know want to change?

ScarabEpic22
March 29th, 2010, 02:51 PM
Use the 2 Bar VVE instead of the 1 Bar VVE.

Dont know about the MAF, usually with FI a lot of people remove it and go SD. You can run OL-MAF, but you probably will not be able to get it as driveable as you'd like.

Using a 2Bar MAP is a good idea, I would recommend one for your TBSS.

Read the VVE Tutorial included with the EFILive download (in Tune or Scan click Help->Tutorials then click Virtual VE Tutorial.pdf.

franckrem
March 29th, 2010, 03:13 PM
But why is it an option to use a 2bar sensor?

How can the computer know if he is in boost if you only have a 1bar sensor on the motor?

ScarabEpic22
March 29th, 2010, 06:09 PM
You are just rescaling the VVE table to have good values past 1Bar, the ECM can do up to 3Bar from the factory. The ECM will know its in boost once it sees airflow values over 14.7psi aka 1Bar, no way a regular NA motor can push more than barometric pressure, it would defy physics.

It is an option in the E67 to use a 2 Bar sensor because cars like the supercharged Caddy CTS-V use it to control the s/c.

joecar
March 29th, 2010, 08:57 PM
Hi franckrem, welcome to the forum...:cheers:

It may be optional to use a 2 bar or 3 bar sensor... but it is the "right" thing to do.