PDA

View Full Version : 8.1ltr question's???

GAMEOVER
May 16th, 2010, 12:57 PM
Is the 8.1ltr engine harness the same as a 6.0 harness(1999-2006)? The motor is a 2002 8.1... This is my first time dealing with a 8.1ltr. Does it have coil on plug? Does it us the LS type PCM? Is it Drive by Cable or Drive by Wire?
For some reason I keep thinking it's the Big Black Box Vortec type controlled engine...

Im going to work on it this week. Just curious as to what I can expect...

Big Mike
May 16th, 2010, 05:54 PM
What to expect? Expect it to be very sensitive to KR and timing adjustments under cruise conditions. 180* T-stat helps some with that.

1) The engine harness's are similar but not identical. KS locations are different and a couple other sensors use different connectors.

2) Yes they're all coil near plug.

3) Will be DBW for sure if it's in a pickup.

4) They use the standard issue LS1B controller same as a 4.8,5.3, 6.0 etc.

GAMEOVER
May 17th, 2010, 04:11 AM
Thanks Big Mike...:cheers:

DURAtotheMAX
May 18th, 2010, 04:21 AM
throttle body's use different connectors....some ECM pinouts are different. Easier to just get an 8.1 harness IMO.

GAMEOVER
May 18th, 2010, 04:49 AM
throttle body's use different connectors....some ECM pinouts are different. Easier to just get an 8.1 harness IMO.

Really...

GAMEOVER
May 20th, 2010, 06:59 AM
Can the 8.1 Drive-By-Wire be converted to Drive-By-Cable? If Not, I really need a 8.1 engine harness that includes the injector & Coil SUB harness along with the TAC Module(with firewall harness) and of course Pedal....All the sensor's are there but no wiring at all...:shock:

GAMEOVER
May 20th, 2010, 08:24 PM
Anyone got a link who deals with 8.1ltr harness's?

DURAtotheMAX
May 22nd, 2010, 09:04 AM