PDA

View Full Version : Stock Tune or Other Help

JimmyJazz
June 20th, 2010, 06:02 PM
Hello All

I am very new to the tuning scene. I have a LS1 in a cobra kit car. The problem I have is that it is detting really badly at about 3500rpm. The engine was taken from a Pontiac Firebird with about 30k miles on it but don't know if it had been tuned before.
Is there a stock tune availble to or could I post something up to get a bit of help.
Please bear in mind that I've only had the flashscan a week or so and I am very very green at the moment. I would really like to get it sorted before it does any damage to the engine.

Thanks Alan

WeathermanShawn
June 20th, 2010, 11:55 PM
Hello All

I am very new to the tuning scene. I have a LS1 in a cobra kit car. The problem I have is that it is detting really badly at about 3500rpm. The engine was taken from a Pontiac Firebird with about 30k miles on it but don't know if it had been tuned before.
Is there a stock tune availble to or could I post something up to get a bit of help.
Please bear in mind that I've only had the flashscan a week or so and I am very very green at the moment. I would really like to get it sorted before it does any damage to the engine.

Thanks Alan

Welcome Alan:

Post up a tune. Its easy to get a stock tune. If you post up your tune, we can look at it. Does 'detting' mean knocking?

JimmyJazz
June 21st, 2010, 02:03 AM
Thanks for the reply, it's much appreciated, tune file attched

By detting I mean it's way to far advanced and causing detonation

joecar
June 21st, 2010, 02:37 AM
Hi Alan, welcome to the forum...:cheers:

Also post some logs.

See www.holdencrazy.com for stock tune file.

JimmyJazz
June 21st, 2010, 02:44 AM
Thanks Joe

As I'm very new, can you be a bit more specific as to what you would like to see in the log. ie do I just drive normally?? or different rpm in different gears etc. How long should the log be??
Apologies for being so basic, but I'd like to give you guys the right information