PDA

View Full Version : Wiring L92 with O2 sensors

68problemchild
August 23rd, 2010, 12:50 PM
Newbie here so forgive the basic question.

I purchased EFI live, and a separate LC-1 02 sensor. Putting in the new harness, it also has two plugs for O2 sensors.

I am putting the harness in over the next two weeks from Current performance.

Do I plug the O2 sensors into my new harness or keep it separate? If the harness, I need another sensor, one for each header yes?

thanks so much.

Taz
August 23rd, 2010, 01:23 PM
Hello,

You have an L92 6.2L GenIV ?? In OEM form you'll have an ECM (PCM) and TCM, and the wiring harness. In OEM form you need 4 O2 sensors - one pre & post cat in each bank. If you have a custom tune, with the rear O2 sensors disabled (they only measure cat performance for emissions purposes), then you require an O2 sensor in each bank - between the engine and the cat. OEM O2 sensors are "narrow" band - these monitor the AFR when in closed loop, and relay this information to the ECM (PCM), which may "trim" fuel as is necessary.

The LC-1 O2 sensor you mentioned - is that a wide band O2 (for use with AFR measuring equipment) ?? If so, it is not compatible for use in providing feedback to the ECM (PCM).

Regards,
Taz

joecar
August 23rd, 2010, 04:12 PM
The LC-1 is a wideband oxygen (WBO) sensor for measuring lambda for tuning purposes.

The GM ECM uses narrowband oxygen (NBO) sensors to trim the AFR (closed loop feedback).

The LC-1 is able to emulate NBO sensors; it has 2 outputs:
- WB signal, used by tuning/logging tools (like EFILive);
- NB signal, used by the ECM to trim the AFR.

So, you could have 2x LC-1's if you wanted to spend $200 each... it's cheaper to use NBO sensors and have just one LC-1.

68problemchild
August 23rd, 2010, 11:26 PM