PDA

View Full Version : 02 5.3l tune help

ippielb
September 25th, 2010, 11:54 AM
Hello, i'm just getting into the world of tuning. And so far, I've backed up my stock tune, i've changed my speedometer and shift points to match my 33" tires. And i've went into the catalytic converter tab and disabled the catalytic converter protection system as i don't have cats anymore.

Am i along the right track?

I'm wanting to tune my truck to get as much performance out of my modifications I've made to my truck right now. I know that long tube headers will give a lean situation as the o2 sensors are farther down. And also since i do not have catalytic converters the rear o2 sensors will read a totally wrong reading.

If you could give me some advice, that would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you.

Edit:

I do not have wide band o2 sensors, so i do not know where i should start.

Taz
September 25th, 2010, 01:00 PM
Hello ippielb,

I have stated this before in the Forum, and it is worth repeating - in a basically stock engine, there is very little performance to be gained by removing the catalytic convertors. There are many high flow cats on the market today that work well – even with modified engines. Cat technology has progressed a great deal in the last decade – removing the cats “just because” is an outdated and irresponsible approach - not to mention illegal. Unless this is a dedicated competition vehicle (permanently off road) - running cats is a sensible and responsible course of action.

You will find the people who use this forum are both knowledgeable, and genuinely try to help each other.

You will also find, many people won’t comment in a thread where there is an illegal (ie. no cats) vehicle being used on public roads.

Regards,
Taz

WeathermanShawn
September 25th, 2010, 01:19 PM
Hi there. Welcome to the forum.

I went with High-Flow Cats, but emissions are pretty tight in this state (Colorado).