PDA

View Full Version : speed sensor

jhanner
October 23rd, 2010, 04:02 AM
hello everyone im new to the tuning world and im getting my but kicked and any help would be much appreciated my first and main issue is i have an 84 chevy 4x4 with a pulse generator and cant figure out how to get the speed signal accurate

Taz
October 23rd, 2010, 06:18 AM
Hello jhanner,

A little more information would be helpful in trying to assist you. What engine & transmission are you using ? If possible, post your current tune.

“Pulse generator” – from Dakota Digital, JTR, or who ? Set to 4K, 8K, or how many pulses ? Mounted on the transmission, transfer case, drive shaft, or where ?

Is the pulse generator wired directly to the PCMs VSS input ? Or the instrument cluster / speedometer ?

Regards,
Taz

jhanner
October 23rd, 2010, 07:36 AM
Sorry about the lack of info i installed a 5.3 with a 4l60e and a 208 transfer case the sensor is from abbott enterprise and its connected to the speedometer gear on the output of the transfer case through the speedometer cable and i believe its an 8k pulse. im getting a reading but its showing way too low and its not shifting properly. ill try to post the tune as soon as i can figure out how. thanks for any help

Taz
October 23rd, 2010, 07:44 AM
This is from one of Joecar’s posts …

How to attach files:

Go Advanced -> Manage Attachments -> Add Files -> Select Files select the file(s) you want to upload, Open Upload Files -> Done

Regards,
Taz

ChipsByAl
October 23rd, 2010, 08:12 AM
Did this transfer case come with the 1984 truck or the 5.3 combination?
Al

jhanner
October 23rd, 2010, 08:18 AM

jhanner
October 23rd, 2010, 08:41 AM
it came with the truck and it uses a gear to run the cable

jhanner
October 23rd, 2010, 12:50 PM