PDA

View Full Version : Leaning towards EFI Live, have some ?s

MonteLSx
December 17th, 2010, 12:22 AM
I am new to tuning and was very close to purchasing HPT. Over the past few days I have been reading more and more posts and am thinking of going EFI. This board has tons of info I need to go through, and I just downloaded the software to try.

I am building an 07 LY6 motor for my Monte SS, nothing radical yet and also have an 00 Silverado. The original plan was to go HPT because they have a package with The Tuning School which looks great for my newb skill level. Does EFI have any online/textbook type programs for the DIY guy at home? I don't need to do much on the truck, going with bigger tires and a gear change soon but figured I could log some of the truck info to get used to what I am looking at before I try to tackle the motor for the Monte where I would be starting from scratch.

Also have to read up more on the roadrunner ecu, looks to be pretty neat but not sure if a newb like myself should learn the basics.

WeathermanShawn
December 17th, 2010, 01:43 AM
Montel:

Welcome to the forum.

Ultimately what tuning software package you go with will have to be your decision. Granted the masses (forum-wise) appear to be with HPT. But, this forum has a variety of talented individuals who tend to be be very helpful and responsive.

In terms of learning materials, most of the EFILive Tutorials described numerous tuning topics. A lot of HPT is classic-type tuning information, while EFILive has a variety of innovative and custom tuning material.

I utilize the RoadRunner PCM. Personally, I think it is a perfect tool for a beginner. Nothing beats making tuning changes instantaneously while on the road (safely).

So, yes you will get some 'biased' views on this board in regards to your decision. I don't get compensated for my endorsement however..:grin:..so good luck either way!

Taz
December 17th, 2010, 01:46 AM