PDA

View Full Version : Newbie looking for advise with first tune

Dieselman
March 6th, 2011, 08:10 PM
Hello all,

I am new to this tuning game and would just like to run everything past you guys before I make to many changes. My car is a VE Holden Calais with a L98 and A6

I have started by following Swingtan's tutorial on VVE setup.

I did some logging to set up the IAT injector flow modifier table. The first log is factory and the second one is a modified tune. The final tune is running a lot flatter but is still a tad rich, Should I keep trying to get it closer to commanded or will it be OK???

Any help greatly appreciated

Ben

swingtan
March 6th, 2011, 08:51 PM
Running rich is not a big issue, at least not when setting the IAT correction. All you are trying to do is get the WB signal to indicate a constant combustion AFR over a wide range of IAT readings. You are pretty close looking at the second log, though there is a bit of a step at 66' IAT, but over all it's quite good. You can get the correction closer if you want, then go on to work on the VVE its self. This will bring the WB AFR back towards the commanded.

Simon.

Dieselman
March 6th, 2011, 09:23 PM
Thanks Simon

I didn't know if the AFR had to match commanded or just be flat all the way though the temp range.

The step was when the Hi speed fans cut in :)

swingtan
March 6th, 2011, 09:52 PM
Yeah, I noticed that, as the MAP and air flow changed. But the AFR line before that was on a steady richening up slope, not a lot though.

Dieselman
March 6th, 2011, 10:45 PM
Is there anyway to adjust between segments ie in increments of 5 degrees instead of 10???

swingtan
March 6th, 2011, 11:49 PM
Nope. I just did the settings at each 10 degree increment and the ECM will blend between them.

Dieselman
March 7th, 2011, 12:29 AM
Ok that is easy

Thanks Simon

Dieselman
March 9th, 2011, 10:35 PM
Ok did some logging tonight and I have now replayed the log but can't get the BEN's to come up on the map???