PDA

View Full Version : 2002 Silverado 5.3l IFR

ippielb
May 6th, 2011, 06:37 AM
So, i am a complete newbie at tuning, and i have just been fiddling around with little things at my own leisure for the past little while just to get kind of familiar with the program. I have tuned my transmission perfectly in my eyes, nice smooth crisp shifts, and i have taken off the cat protection and the rear o2 sensors. I was reading the topic, > > > General Tuning Information < < <, and What To Tune First, and the first thing i did was the IFR Table. I used the IFR Spreadsheet that RedHardSupra provided on his website, and the values already put in on the spreadsheet where for my 5.3l Engine already. So i went ahead and used the numbers for the flow rate on the g/sec, put the tune on my truck just to test the IFR table, and boy did i make a huge mistake. It sounded like my truck had a cam if was running so rich. Stock tune on my truck has a value of 3.179688 from 0 all the way to 80 in the table.

Anyone have any pointers where i went wrong?

joecar
May 6th, 2011, 06:55 AM
Your truck has a MAP-referenced FPR, i.e. it has a vacuum hose connecting FPR to the intake manifold...

the FPR regulates pressure to base pressure plus MAP (manifold absolute pressure)... i.e MAP is added to base pressure, this is the pressure the FPR regulates to.

At WOT (MAP equals BARO, 100 kPa near sea level) the FPR regulates higher pressure then at closed throttle (MAP equals say 33 kPa for stock cam);

MAP-referenced FPR keeps the pressure difference across any one injector constant:
i.e. pressure at top of injector is base pressure + MAP; pressure at bottom of injector is MAP; difference is base pressure (i.e constant)(i.e. MAP subtracts out).

IFR is proportional to the squareroot of the pressure difference across an injector... so for MAP-referenced FPR (constant pressure difference across injector) the IFR is flat same value all across.

------