PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here. Need some help on 09 5.3 / 6L80e and e38

DarkKnightWong
May 21st, 2011, 07:24 AM
Hi everyone.

New guy here.. I've been reading and reading and finally got the courage to do my first post for help. Not sure if this is the correct place to post my question..

I'm currently in the planning and gathering stages of my 09 5.3L 6L80e swap into a 1940 Oldsmobile street rod.

I have a 5.3L LY5 motor out of a 09 Silverado and a 6L80e 2WD out of a silverado too. It has the engine harness complete.. Looks like it has the connectors for a 4L60e too..
E38 ecu
Ls2 intake/fuel/injectors/throttle body.

I'm planning to put a mild cam in it, when I remove the VVT and AFM.

What should be my first step for the ECU ? Do I flash it with a Program that can run the LS2 intake and 6l80e and if so what would you recommend as a good base program and tune to just get the car running and driving.

I plan to buy some running software like EFILive so I can learn how to do all this flashing and tunning myself...

Thanks in Advance for the help

Allen

Taz
May 21st, 2011, 09:31 AM
Hello Allen,

Sounds like a great project. Are the engine, transmission, wiring harness, and E38 ECM all from the same 2009 truck ?

Regards,
Taz

DarkKnightWong
May 21st, 2011, 11:42 AM
Hi Taz

Unfortunately they are from different trucks.
The 5.3 and engine harness is from one 09 Truck that had a 4L60e 2wd behind it
The 6L80e is from a different 2wd truck ... I guess 09 too
The e38 is a 09 ecu based on the part number on it( I looked it up on one of the stickies here), no clue what car or what it has on it..

It was suppose to be a complete swap out of a 09 Silverado.. :-(

The Ls2 intake and stuff is from a GTO Ls2 I think an 06...

Whatcha think ? Am I in for a world of hurt ?? :-)

Taz
May 21st, 2011, 12:54 PM