PDA

View Full Version : Help with tune adjustments

SuperChevy
May 27th, 2011, 05:14 AM
I have recently upgraded the computer on my 97 K3500 to a 411 PCM. I installed a custom os and copied the calibrations from the system loaded on the PCM when I bought it (express van). The truck idles good but stabbing the throttle causes the engine to bobble really bad. If I keep it under 1/4 throttle the engine revs up without bobble. At WOT it bobbles for a second then runs strong- anything less than full throttle results in a continuous bobble almost stalls completely.
I am hoping to get some insight on which parameters are out of line- see attached tune and log.

Some info on the truck:
97 7.4L Engine
Ported heads
28lbs injectors
whipple super charger- old school with two addition 50lbs injectors at the throttle body
Granatelli MAF
Gibson Headers
High Flow cats
4:56 gears with 35" tires

Any help pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated since I am new to self tuning.

L31Sleeper
May 27th, 2011, 08:56 AM
Get rid of the Whippletronics it will continue to be a nightmare.
Check out this file.

-Justin
Justin@EFIMuscle.com

SuperChevy
May 28th, 2011, 07:35 AM
L31Sleeper,
Good call on the whippletronics.

I cut them out of the loop and truck runs like a striped a$$ ape again. I appreciate your input and help. I loaded your changes to my calibration as well and seems to work good- the truck has been sitting for 4 months so I need to go spend a couple days salary and fill the tank with some fresh gas (predetinating under load right now) but I can at least have confidence that I can now go farther than a block from the house with the new PCM and tune.

Thanks again
Garrett

L31Sleeper
May 28th, 2011, 08:17 AM
Do you have a 2 bar MAP sensor ?? Your tune is not setup for one.
If you have one I could simply change the tune, If not you will need one.

-Justin

SuperChevy
May 28th, 2011, 11:57 AM