PDA

View Full Version : 99 tahoe, black box pcm need help

RSTahoe99
June 23rd, 2011, 01:26 AM
2 things....

I swapped in a T56 for the 4l60e and need to reprogram the computer(so it doesn't think i'm in park). I am an EFILive newbie, so basic as possible is good.

I also need to correct my timing(my dizzy is one tooth off). What part of EFIlive do i use and how do i set it up to see cam retard to set the timing?

thanks in advance guys.

ScarabEpic22
June 23rd, 2011, 02:03 AM
Welcome to the site!

For the timing, honestly you should pull the dizzy and reset it properly. Using tuning to adjust for a mechanical issue is a band-aid at best, but unlike a band-aid on humans the problem wont go away and could get bigger over time.

Not sure what to do about the trans swap, just looked really quickly at a Black Box file and didnt see what needs to be changed. I dont know if the Tahoes were offered with a manual trans for 98-00, if they are then you can use one of those files and be all set. Otherwise swapping to an LS1B PCM would make the swap painless.

RSTahoe99
June 23rd, 2011, 02:12 AM
i plan on pulling the dizzy to correctly set the timing, i just need to be able to see zero when i do so I'm not blindly setting the timing.

i also plan on swapping to the 0411 pcm, but i need a quick fix for now, as i won't be able to have it down for some time again.

ScarabEpic22
June 23rd, 2011, 05:22 AM
Hopefully someone who tunes the black box can help out here, I dont know of a way to set it up for a manual. PM Alicious, he's got a T56 in a 96 truck but I dont know if he did the trans swap before or after his 0411 swap.

If you want to see what your timing is, use the V7.5 Scan tool and connect to your truck. Click Edit->Validate PIDs, then look for the CMP and timing PIDs. Press the yellow button to view realtime data, red button to actually record the data.

Taz
June 23rd, 2011, 05:34 AM
Hello RSTahoe99,