PDA

View Full Version : Removing injection events - compensation?

AdamRRT
September 9th, 2011, 04:32 PM
When you guys remove the pre and/or post injection event, are you compensating by increasing duration on the main pulse?

Bear with me. I just got my EFILive 2 days ago and haven't flashed my ecm (or ECU, PCM, whatever we want to call it) yet because I'm wanting to fully understand my plan of attack on the tuning. I'm used to gasoline vehicle tuning with HPTuners, so I have some good base knowledge, but as yet it's my first run with EFILive and with a diesel. Thanks for the help.

06redram
September 9th, 2011, 05:51 PM
Yes you need to make differrents up the post

06redram
September 9th, 2011, 05:56 PM
It's a nice writeup by dog house the post is EFILive for Dummies I hope that help. Welcome to the Efi live

AdamRRT
September 9th, 2011, 06:18 PM
Thanks a ton. I've read that. Now I really need to figure out more of the diesel- and Cummins-specific issues. Like I said I get most of the basics of how to tune but it is on gasoline vehicles. I've been doing some of the basics of tuning LS1 cars for a few years while my tuner buddy works the complex magic, but on the diesels I am less sure. I'd love to see some how-to's, such as modifying the injection events (like how to turn off each, and how to modify the main to compensate - for those who don't get it at all - I don't think that's me but we'll see haha), and maybe eventually I'd love to see us come up with kind of table showing how much fuel and timing various tuners give at various levels, to give newer members a guide but still leaving them to learn how to tune.

GMPX
September 9th, 2011, 06:51 PM
Adam, actually some of the tutorials that were done for the Duramax a number of years ago are also applicable for the Cummins in concept. Maybe also trying searching the internet for Duramax Tuning tips.

AdamRRT
September 9th, 2011, 06:53 PM
Excellent. Thanks for all the help, guys. I feel welcome already!

FUBAR