PDA

View Full Version : Controlling LS2 Cooling Fans

ODeer
October 18th, 2011, 12:00 AM
I am new to all this so if I’ve planted a boot in my mouth please forgive me.
Engine LS2 with E40 ECU. Transplanted from 2005 GTO. Cooling fans in original car were controlled by the ECU in two modes via 3 relays. The primary request ran both fans in series at low speed and then the secondary request ran both in parallel at high speed.

EFILive however provides for a graduated output from ECU against coolant temperature. My brain cell cannot see how a graduated demand can be made through the ECU primary/secondary signals to relays. I expected that there would be the same style of control as for LS1 i.e. Fan 1 turn on temp, Fan 2 turn on temp and Off temp.

Can anyone shed light on this please?

Thank you
Terry

Taz
October 18th, 2011, 04:51 AM
Hello Terry,

I am the self professed Gen III guy - have only done a small number of Gen IV conversions at this point in time - so the following is what I believe to be true with respect to PWM fan control. Fan 1 and Fan 2 turn "on" temperatures and turn "off" temperatures are determine by the percentage value entered in the applicable table(s).

The attached PDF file is an example of this process, in an E38 ECM with the EFILive cooling fan patch (extended temperature range) applied to the table values. The table numbers and appearance may be slightly different with your E40 ECM (I don't work with these controllers) but the concept applies.

Hope this helps ...

Regards,
Taz

ODeer
October 18th, 2011, 07:00 AM
Hello Taz

Thank you for an informative reply. That is the most sense I have seen so far on this topic. My brain cell is still at a loss to understand it completely though.