PDA

View Full Version : Newbe; project Nissan 4x4 with LS1-4L65E

Mayhem
October 19th, 2011, 09:55 PM
Hi Guy's
I have been troling this site for a few months now trying to get my head around EFI tuning. I'm very new to this electronic tuning, more mechanical orientated.
Here is what I have and what I've done.
I have built a LS1 with GM performance LS6 heads a LS hot cam and LS2 intake and injectors, for now I am running the stock LS1 DBC throttle body (on an adaptor) till I can get an 80mm DBC ls2 TB
I have a stand alone wiring harnessfrom PSI.
I want to use a 1024k RR ECU that I bought used from a mate as well as EFILive v1.
I am running 36" tyres and 4.33 gears:blahblah::sly:.

Here are a few problems that I have run into:bad:The engine loom I got was for a 512k ECU (Red/Blue plug) and my rr is 1024k (Blue Green plug). I did borrow a 512k ECU from a mate and managed to get the engine to run and rev but it was difficult to get it to idle(obviously incorrect tune) I then tried the RR ECU and the engine starts and idles only very low rpm. I know that the tune in the RR was for a DBW TB and also manual gear box.

Now here are my questions:
1: Where can I find a base tune for my application? I have tried a few from the tune file depot but when I try to load it onto the ECU I get a message that this type of ECU is not recognised by EFIlive....?
2: Do I need to change/ add wiring for the O2 sensors (because of different ECU plugs)
3: On the transmition side, should I put the VSS on the adaptor between the gearbox and t-case or would it be better on the output shaft of the t-case?
4: If I install the VSS on the output shaft of the t-case how will the ECU know when the t-case is in low range?
5: If I change the tyre size and gear ratio in the speedo section of the tune will this automaticly change the settings in the gear shift section?
6: Can I scan directly from the RR ECU to my laptop or must I go threw the scan tool via OBDII plug?