PDA

View Full Version : Too Much Timing or Fuel??

onegonewild
October 24th, 2011, 04:32 AM
I have been dealing with this problem for quite some time now and cant find a resolution. I have a stroked 5.7L with a 0411 ECM flashed with the COS5 and 2002 GMC Savana tune. The issue is with starting and I can't seem to find the happy medium of proper advance on startup or cranking VE. The engine has a hard time starting and feels like there is too much advance or way too much fuel. I do know that when it fires, the AFR gauge is in the 10s or 11s. Maybe someone can look at this and give me a better approach?

I have a brand new Powermaster 12:1 starter with an Optima Red Top battery.

Tune file "FRESH" is the latest test and "Timing MOD" is a prior test.

onegonewild
October 25th, 2011, 06:20 AM
I have fuel injector tables dialed in, CMP retard is -1, fuel pressure is good, NGK TR55 plugs, runs great when it is warm, but issue is mainly with cranking. I am running a COS5 OS, and problem persisted with the factory OS.
Anyone?

joecar
October 25th, 2011, 07:34 AM
Can you post logs showing spark advance (SPARKADV) and commanded fuel (EQIVRATIO) (and other pids like MAF, DYNAIR, and idle pids) during cranking.

onegonewild
October 25th, 2011, 07:50 AM
I will do that this evening and post a log. Thanks!

onegonewild
October 25th, 2011, 02:56 PM
I think i see the issue with the commanded AFR. So, what did I do wrong with my tune to cause this?

Aloicious
October 25th, 2011, 05:44 PM
all I see is commanded AFR, do you have a wideband? your cranking VE looks slightly strange, where did you get the values for that?

onegonewild
October 26th, 2011, 12:17 AM
Yes, I have a FJO wideband and the cranking VE was just a guess trying to resolve the hard start issue.

joecar
October 26th, 2011, 04:46 AM
I agree with Aloicious, cranking VE is wrong (and too high). Also, you maybe have a little too much spark advance.

joecar
October 26th, 2011, 04:47 AM