PDA

View Full Version : getting STS kit

ZL1Killa
January 28th, 2006, 07:04 AM
I plan on getting an STS turbo kit and the car will remain at the stock 5psi boost levels, what other supporting mods would I need to do if i wasn't going to rag the car (dumping the clutch and other silly stuff) It would probably see a track trip on street tires but thats about it. and what tuning would i do?

Do i have to buy a 2 bar sensor or do i just tune in 2 bar (I'm a complete newbie on this) yes i just said newbie.

GMPX
January 28th, 2006, 09:16 AM
I would normally recommend running without the MAF on any forced induction motor and use a 2bar sensor, but it makes tuning it correctly fall soley on YOU.
If you can retain the MAF then it should get the fueling pretty close for the most part, others would know more about this, but I think with an 85mm MAF you should still be able to run about 5psi and not max it out?.

Of course, you will enjoy 5psi for a few weeks then want more!.

Cheers,
Ross

ZL1Killa
January 28th, 2006, 12:26 PM
lol, i'm already running no MAF, my speed density will be done this coming Saturday when I go home from college.

LOL, I know eventually I will want more boost but right now in the situation I'm in with school and the car we can't afford to build a huge project car like some people have done. I think that i would have to replace what....?? 5psi on a stock block..what would it break? lol. Basically I'm looking at getting the turbo kit, keeping it at 5psi, getting rear control arms, and a panhard bar and matching that with a 12 bolt or more than likely a 9inch.....then after some time and saving some more money redo the tranny(have to take it easy until tranny gets done too)

I want to make the motor stronger and be able to last a while, its a father and son build....so yeh dad gets mad when the car isn't working or doesn't come out of the shop for a couple days....what can I say though, he loves to drive it

ZL1Killa
January 28th, 2006, 12:33 PM