PDA

View Full Version : 2.2 Ecotec e37 stand alone

Fixuntilbroke
February 9th, 2012, 10:43 AM
Can i use efi live to disable or apply patch to disable vats and bcu etc on 2008 cobalt donor car to work stand alone in sandrail? Can i later (as standalone ecm) tap into whatever necessary wires and modify programming for whatever reason? Possible to use to control turbo setup on down the road? noob here, obviously

GMPX
February 9th, 2012, 11:15 AM
Yes EFILive does support VATS disable on the E37 ECM, as well as disable DTC's for things that might be missing on the sandrail vs Cobalt.
As far as Turbo support, you are in luck, most of GM's ECM from 2006+ are already able to support boosted engines (E37 included). Whilst there is no wastegate controls, you could at least control fuelling in to boost (up to 255kPa MAP).

Fixuntilbroke
February 9th, 2012, 06:15 PM
Yes EFILive does support VATS disable on the E37 ECM, as well as disable DTC's for things that might be missing on the sandrail vs Cobalt.
As far as Turbo support, you are in luck, most of GM's ECM from 2006+ are already able to support boosted engines (E37 included). Whilst there is no wastegate controls, you could at least control fuelling in to boost (up to 255kPa MAP).
Will a fairly intelligent noob be able to accomplish this? Im assuming i can obtain some wiring diagrams / pinouts from alldata or somthing...

ScarabEpic22
February 9th, 2012, 06:21 PM
To disable DTCs and VATS is about 20 mouse clicks then wait 30 seconds for a flash. No need to work with the wiring (unless you need to get a stock harness to work without a starter relay/etc).

For turbo support you will be able to control fueling and spark under boost without a problem, imagine thats down the road a little, but shouldnt be too difficult.

Fixuntilbroke
February 14th, 2012, 08:16 AM