PDA

View Full Version : Tuning learning curve

minytrker
February 6th, 2006, 08:53 PM
What seems to be the normal learning curve for learning to tune? I am a mechanic by trade so I am not new to cars. I know the basics behind tuning and I know what I want the car to do. I am just having a hard time learning how to translate the info from the tables of numbers and graphs. For example I know my car at wot gets rich from 3500 rpms all the way to redline. I know it needs to be leaned out and but I don't know how to transfer that into efi live. I have been reading alot of data logging and it is helping some. Are there any good books to read to help learn more about tuning?

Doc
February 6th, 2006, 10:21 PM
I agree with your sentiments. EFI University was in my town a year ago. I wish I had my act together then and would have went to one of their classes.:bawl: Oh well, I am ready to go accross the world to get some real training like that now. http://www.efi101.com/schedule.html
Please come back to Florida, please. Here is some more internet stuff. :beer:
http://www.ls1racer.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=1539

redhardsupra
February 7th, 2006, 03:44 AM
'how to tune and modify engine managment systems' been a great book explaining every little aspect to me so far. not the most in depth book, but enough to explain in proper terms everything you'll find in the forums.
stickies are awesome tho, help a lot.

BowlingSS
February 7th, 2006, 05:03 AM
You are always in the learning curve. There is always something new or new way of tuning. I have been learning for about a year on EFILive. Good luck.

Bill
:cheers:

Black02SS
February 7th, 2006, 05:54 AM
You are always in the learning curve. There is always something new or new way of tuning. I have been learning for about a year on EFILive. Good luck.

Bill
:cheers:
:iamwithstupid: I couldn't agree more Bill. If you aren't learning more, then I personally don't feel you are applying yourself enough. :)

redhardsupra