PDA

View Full Version : STILL can't get my wideband to read... and i can't turn off the MAF

rumblebox
November 17th, 2012, 08:05 AM
i set it up via the auto VE tutorial exactly. i'm running SD.

problem 1, i can't tell the computer not to check for my MAF or set "fail" to "1" without the car running for less than 1 second and shutting off.
problem 2, my WB MAP has nothing on it at all.

it's like you have to be an IT person by trade to be a tuner..... i'm about to say **** it and pay someone else to tune the POS.

GMPX
November 17th, 2012, 11:45 AM
problem 1, i can't tell the computer not to check for my MAF or set "fail" to "1" without the car running for less than 1 second and shutting off.
Sounds like it's still thinking the MAF is there when it's not.
So, if the MAF has been removed from the car then all you need to do is shut the MIL off for P0101, P0102 & P0103 (table C6002 for GenIII PCM's), and certainly don't disable the MAF DTC's (table C6001).
If the MAF is still fitted but you don't want the PCM to look at it, again just turn the MIL off, have the DTC's enabled still, but set the High Fail Threshold very low (parameter C2901), maybe 50 Hz.

Knowing your way around a computer is pretty much mandatory with tuning EFI vehicles, after all, it is a computer running the engine, not a mechanical device!

rumblebox
November 17th, 2012, 01:23 PM
I've had the MIL disabled since i went SD 3 years ago, but the autove tutorial said to disable the diag process all together.

I'm pretty good with computers, and i've always found EFI live to be user-friendly, but this friggin wide band is giving me hell. I'm thinking about ditching the serial connector and just going analog.

Behold
November 17th, 2012, 10:20 PM
Is it the PID you have selected not seeing the Wide band? or do you think it's not seeing the WB it's self due to a cabling issue?