PDA

View Full Version : Cannot Connect

greggles_vs
January 23rd, 2013, 01:20 AM
Sorry if this has been asked before, i did try searching first. I am a first time user of EFILive and am trying to see what DTCs my VSV6 throws at me. My problem is, when i try to connect, it says all 8 of the comm port options are wrong and will not let me connect my laptop to my car. I may be setting something wrong, i have tried reading through the help sections, but if i keep going, i wont have a laptop to look at my DTCs on LOL. Please, any help would be great, and since im very new to this stuff, the most lamen of terms would be amazing LOL cheers

Blacky
January 23rd, 2013, 07:47 AM
Are you using a serial to USB converter? If so (and assuming it will work with the ALDL protocol) you'll need to find out which serial port the USB converter is using.

Press and hold the Windows Key (between the Ctrl and Alt Keys) and while holding the Windows Key, press and release the Pause button (near the numeric keypad).
That will display the Computer Properties window.

On Windows XP:
Select Hardware tab page
Click on the [Device Manager] button

On Windows Vista and 7:
Select Device Manager

For all Windows:
Expand the Universal Serial Bus Controllers item (that will be at the bottom of the list)
Look for your USB-Serial converter device, right click it and select Properties.
Look through the various settings and one of them should show you which serial port number the converter is using.
Configure that COM port setting in EFILive.

Regards
Paul

greggles_vs
January 23rd, 2013, 11:11 AM
Mine does not show it. Mine has lost of host controllers, a composite device and lots of root hubs. I'm prob reading it wrong or doing something wrong :(

Blacky
January 23rd, 2013, 11:45 AM
Unplug the USB-serial device and press F5 and see which device disappears.
And/or plug it back in and press F5 and see which device re-appears.

Regards
Paul

greggles_vs
January 23rd, 2013, 01:08 PM