PDA

View Full Version : 04.5 lly efi live

redbone21
January 29th, 2013, 02:02 PM
im new to the diesel world and from everything i have read i think i would like to purchase efi live but i dont know where to start. im looking for power to tow with and milage when my truck is a daily driver. i would also like some added horse power when i want to play around and stuff. i would also like some smoke for when i want to play around. im not looking to hook up to a pulling sled or anything. i have an 04.5 lly and so far i bought a four inch exhaust with seven inch stacks, i have an egr delete, i have a s&b cold air intake with a new mouth piece. none of these item have been installed yet because i didn't know if the truck would throw codes if i put them on. i have a piller pod with a boost guage, a fuel pressure guage and a pyrometer

Any help would be greatly appreciated

bmc1025
January 30th, 2013, 07:10 AM
Sounds like you are off to a good start, other than the stacks.... J/K. I just started tuning myself and have found there is a ton of help out there. Start by reading here, Dieselplace, and a few other forums. Go ahead and by the Flashscan V2 and take baby steps. Read and get a good idea of what needs to be changed to get the outcome you desire. Make sure you read and save multiple copies of your stock file, even make a backup on a cd. Then make small changes in the tables and test to make sure things are headed in the direction you were looking for.

If you are unsure of things PM some of the more helpful members in the threads you read, there are many here and on DP that enjoy helping others.

bmc1025
January 30th, 2013, 07:20 AM
Im short on time but here are a couple rules to follow to keep you out of trouble.

The Duramax 6.6L in GM pickups (the Kodiak/Top Kick and G-Van use a different rating) has a limit of 1,365 continuous, with 1,435 allowed for transients of five minutes or less. -Diesel Power Magazine