PDA

View Full Version : PIDs: noob questions here

C Murda
March 4th, 2013, 02:06 PM
what are PIDs? where do i select them? when do i use them? how many can/do i use? which ones should i use? im a complete noob in the tuning world so i need to learn the Cummins specific basics!

ScarabEpic22
March 4th, 2013, 05:02 PM
PIDs (or in the case of Cummins PID groups until EDA comes out) are the parameters to log data from the ECM. Think RPM, speed, injection pulsewidth/quantity, boost, MAP, etc.

You need, no you MUST, have a strong knowledge of PIDs and logging BEFORE attempting to tune ANYTHING. If you dont know how your truck is doing bone stock and start making changes, how will you know if your changes are good or bad?

Robs24vCTD
March 4th, 2013, 05:03 PM
http://content.efilive.com/tutorials/3rdparty/EFILive%20for%20Dummies,%20Part%202%20-%20Scan%20Tool.pdf

C Murda
March 5th, 2013, 03:48 AM
PIDs (or in the case of Cummins PID groups until EDA comes out) are the parameters to log data from the ECM. Think RPM, speed, injection pulsewidth/quantity, boost, MAP, etc.

You need, no you MUST, have a strong knowledge of PIDs and logging BEFORE attempting to tune ANYTHING. If you dont know how your truck is doing bone stock and start making changes, how will you know if your changes are good or bad?

ya this is what im trying to learn. so what groups of PIDs should i select? which apply to logging and tuning the cummins engine?

WyoFreeride
March 5th, 2013, 12:20 PM
http://content.efilive.com/tutorials/3rdparty/EFILive%20for%20Dummies,%20Part%202%20-%20Scan%20Tool.pdf