PDA

View Full Version : Can not read 09 6.7L cummins stock file

FVPdiesel
March 15th, 2013, 02:11 AM
i'm trying to tune an 09 6.7L cummins. i can not get the stock file to read on my V2. i've made a few phone calls, no one has had this problem before.... the truck was purchased new, and was recently reflashed by chrysler, so i know it is the stock program in the computer. can anyone help? i get a code: $0311 when i try to read the stock file.

ScarabEpic22
March 15th, 2013, 02:18 AM
That error is related to BBL, can you write down the steps you're doing to get the error? Also, you need to use V8 and program your V2 in order to read the tune, what have you done to your V2?

Have you tried using V8 and a laptop to read the tune? That would be my first plan of attack.

FVPdiesel
March 15th, 2013, 02:36 AM
i'm new to EFI, this is the first dodge i have done. i have a brand new V2, with the V8 software, all the most recent updates. i go to the Read menu (upper left corner of the screen) i click on auto detect, the PCM show up, i click on the read botton below the picture of the ECM and it comes up with the error code $0311... i have been using the laptop as i can not figure out how to run the V2 with out it...

ScarabEpic22
March 15th, 2013, 04:02 AM
Do you have the truck keyswitch in the RUN position?

You will need both V7.5 and V8 software to tune a Cummins. V8 to read/flash, V7.5 to edit and scan/log.

FVPdiesel
March 15th, 2013, 04:08 AM
i just talked with a tyler from punisher diesel. he said he recently had the same problem, apparently the 09's have a software blocker that does not allow them to be tuned, and EFI has not come up with a solution to this issue yet... so i'm kinda SOL now that i have all the DPF and EGR hardware removed

ScarabEpic22
March 15th, 2013, 05:11 AM
If you have the newest bootblock/calibration in the ECM then yes, you will not be able to read it out.

2007 5.9
March 15th, 2013, 05:19 AM