PDA

View Full Version : 4l60e manual shift tune?

mrgrimm
April 8th, 2013, 02:31 AM
Here is the story. Frankenstein samurai project with 98 blazer engine/ tranny/ frame, 92 1-ton axles, 87 samurai body. http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/04/08/a2y6yvuv.jpg

This is a budget build and I do not care to do major work to the transmission right now.

I would like to modify the tune so it only shifts when I tell it to with my ratchet shifter. Would also like a reverse shift pattern. How do I tune it to do what I say when I say. Keep in mind I have no experience tuning transmissions.

Thanks

mrgrimm
April 8th, 2013, 04:59 AM
Back story.
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/04/09/ygu6a5y2.jpg
this is my budget samurai build. AKA Frankenstein Samurai. The engine, transmission and frame are from a 98 Blazer. Axles are from a 92 1-ton with 3.73:1 gears.

Questions...
1. Can I tune the computer to only have it shift when I hit the ratchet?

2. Can I tune the computer so it has a reverse shift pattern? Better for using a ratchet shifter.

3. Will not having a Speedo pickup be a problem?

I have no experience tuning transmissions so all help is great. It will get a manual valve body if I have to do a rebuild, just trying to keep my expenses down for now.

joecar
April 8th, 2013, 05:58 AM
1. No. The PCM decides when to shift based on the tables. The manual lever selects the range of gears that the PCM can shift thru.

2. No.

3. Yes. VSS is required because PCM uses VSS in shift tables.

Sounds like you want a RMVB (reverse manual valve body).

mrgrimm
April 9th, 2013, 01:58 PM
1. No. The PCM decides when to shift based on the tables. The manual lever selects the range of gears that the PCM can shift thru.

2. No.

3. Yes. VSS is required because PCM uses VSS in shift tables.

Sounds like you want a RMVB (reverse manual valve body).

Yeah thought this might be the case. Followed lots of your threads Joel thanks for the input.

mrgrimm
April 10th, 2013, 01:07 AM
Joecar