PDA

View Full Version : e38 possible bad ecm?

ls1mike
May 17th, 2013, 06:35 AM
Hey guys been really chasing our tails with this one - been having many weird phantom issues with this vehicle, so many problems not even worth mentioning because if you can imagine a problem it is happening.

Biggest single factor in making me think it is a computer issue is that the car will run idle and work great then shut it off try to start it back up and it will not even run at all. This behavior is intermittent sometimes it will run for an hour and I will work on the tuning then sometimes I have to load several tunes into it to idle.

Who here has run into a bad e38 computer - what was it doing? Can I use any E38 as a replacement?

As far as what the tune is doing I have tried pretty much everything, I have a lot of experience with these but almost a week of diagnostics and tuning into this thing so I'm running out of possibilities.

Thanks, Mike

ScarabEpic22
May 17th, 2013, 07:17 AM
It happens every once in a while.

You cant just use whatever ECM you want, you need to match the p/n with the OS you want to run. Ex can't run a 2006 OS in a 2009 ECM and vice-versa, it will brick itself.

GMPX
May 17th, 2013, 10:47 AM
I don't tend to hear of them going bad, the common problem we always hear about is other tuning programs flashing in wrong year model OS's, that'll cause all sorts of weird problems, sometimes a no start.

ls1mike
May 18th, 2013, 04:57 AM
This vehicle has been to at least 3 tuning shops over time and definitely efilive and hptuners and who knows what else. Could be it, maybe? Lets hope its that simple.

GMPX
May 19th, 2013, 11:20 AM
Yes it could be that, do you have access to be able to use TIS2WEB to get the factory stock tune put back in it?

ls1mike
May 19th, 2013, 03:32 PM
No, found a matching vehicle computer will swap this week and see what happens. Fingers crossed.

GMPX
May 19th, 2013, 05:35 PM