PDA

View Full Version : Need tables for limp modes

bobo
April 3rd, 2006, 06:42 AM
It seems that no matter what you do to eliminate the codes 0299 and 0088 it will still send the ECM into a limp mode. All the limp mode tables and c1804-1806 do not help. Any way to get these tables built into the LLY stuff? I want to control the limp mode so it don't go there, but still sets a code. This will help me isolate what is causing the codes. I know how to get the codes, now I need to see what the ECM is seeing that sets the code.

Max Power
April 3rd, 2006, 01:09 PM
Well I am no expert on how codes and limp modes are handled but would assume that the codes are set parallel to the limp tables. In other words even though you shut off the codes the routine still carries through with the limp. Does that make sense? I could be wrong. If i am right we need to find those tables.

bobo
April 3rd, 2006, 01:25 PM
You are right. The codes shut off, but the limp mode still occurs. Now we need to find all the limp mode tables so we can control them. It is a PITA while logging to stop logging so you can clear DTC's to shut off a limp mode code.

bobo
April 5th, 2006, 06:49 AM
I think Ross pointed me in the correct direction fro a 0299 fix. Now for the 0088 limp fix.....

Here is the deal....my valve used to blow open at 26000 psi...now it don't. I logged the rail psi spike on the 4-5 shift(80mph). At about 100mph the rail psi had climbed up close to the desired and then the code came...intant limp and my truck fell on it's face. I have the light coming on, so I know when it happens.

Here is my thinking...the rail psi spike triggers a "watch mode" for the rail psi. Once the ECM sees the psi climbing again, it throws the code. The workaround could be to find the proper limp table. The best fix would be to have a table to set the upper rail psi limits. Right now they must be set somewhere around 180MPa or at about 26100psi. If the ECM sees these limits, it sets a code.