PDA

View Full Version : Power Enrichment and Boost VE

frdstang93
September 4th, 2013, 07:15 AM
Hello all,

I am new to tuning and currently working on a LS swapped foxbody with a 67mm turbo. I have combed through forums and followed many tutorials. Currently I am going through the AutoVE process to get my main VE dialed in and so far so good. Right now I am nowhere near having the boosting part of it figured out, I am running OS 3 with no MAF and a 3 bar GM map. I am confused on the Power Enrichment and the Boost VE table, should they be run in tandem or is there a way to turn the PE off.

Thank you,
Josh

joecar
September 5th, 2013, 03:23 AM
Main VE and Boost VE provide cylinder airmass (not fuel).

OLFA and PE provide fuel to go with that airmass.

People are doing this: use OL fueling to command NA fuel, and use PE to command boost fuel (by using the PE MAP threshold)...

i.e.
set to run OL;
set OLFA to be suitably rich for NA in the higher MAP columns;
set PE MAP threshold beyond 105 kPa;
set PE to be suitably rich for boost for the whole rpm range;
(also set PE throttle threshold to easily trigger).

frdstang93
September 5th, 2013, 06:46 AM
Thank you for the quick response joecar, I was planning on running CL in the NA ranges after I fished AutoVE. Under boost the software switches to the Boost VE and goes into OL automatically, correct?

joecar
September 5th, 2013, 11:49 AM
Thank you for the quick response joecar, I was planning on running CL in the NA ranges after I fished AutoVE. Under boost the software switches to the Boost VE and goes into OL automatically, correct?It does not necessarily go into OL...

if the commanded fuel is away from stoich then it will be in a OL-like mode (altho it will still be adding positive trims, it is in a CL-like mode with last positive trim)...

when running in CL the OLFA table never becomes active, even when PE enables... when PE enables any positive trim is added (and stays in a CL-like mode).