PDA

View Full Version : Need help with LS1/4L60e tune, bad idle

LS-SWAPPER
September 5th, 2013, 04:04 AM
I know this has been covered in may different ways, and I've searched around but haven't found a fix. First off I need to say that I am still a novice especially when it comes to tuning with major engine changes. We are trying to get a friends LS1/4L60e going in his classic car (in other words this is a swap). It has a decent sized cam, headers and cold air intake. The MAF, throttle body and engine displacement are still stock. I have it running OK on the highway and during WOT but the idle is embarrassing. It starts up just fine and as long as I let it warm up completely it will drive, but if the ect is below 180*F it will die when put into gear. Once it is warmed up it will still stumble pretty dramatically when put into gear but it will recover. Even when its warmed up the idle still hunts for steady state for a while and then finally it will stick at 850 rpms like I have it set to do at the moment.

Like I said, this is my first time trying to tune a vehicle with a larger cam and I am pretty sure its what's causing my trouble. Can someone please take a look at the tune in progress that I have? Also attached is a datalog and the cam specs. I'm sure its an easy fix for you guys. Thanks!

bimbleuk
September 5th, 2013, 08:11 PM
That cam looks like the one I've just installed. I've been using the tune in the first post below as a base for my tuning.

http://forum.efilive.com/showthread.php?14439-Idle-Tips-amp-Tricks