PDA

View Full Version : Idle Issues, Beginner Tuner

JordanSBC427
November 30th, 2013, 04:14 PM
Hello,

Looking to get some help with regards to Idle issues. My father and I have put together a SBC 427, and had a basic tune dumped into it from a camaro so we could run it on the dyno. The small idle issue we have is that it will not start just by turning the key, I have to press down on the peddle to get it to fire. Once it starts, it idles reasonably well and usually around 550 rpm. We are running an LS1 ECM from EFI connection, and an aftermarket TPI from FIRST fuel injection. Not sure if the Idle air motor can't provide enough airflow for the tune or if we have to much fuel being dumped in during cranking. I have downloaded my tune on my laptop and looked around a bit but as of now, its all greek to me as i'm very new to this. Does anyone know of any quick things to test or checks that could help eliminate some possibilities?

Thank you,

Jordan

JordanSBC427
December 26th, 2013, 05:08 PM
Anyone?

joecar
December 27th, 2013, 12:49 PM
Hi Jordan, welcome to the forum, sorry I somehow missed this thread.

Have the VE and MAF tables been corrected...? If so, by what method (details) and after correction did you log the fueling error (aka BEN)...?

Log IAC steps to see what the IAC is doing... if the PCM can't open the IAC sufficiently you will see IAC pegging at max steps (130).

Post your tune file and any log files here in this thread.

joecar
December 27th, 2013, 12:51 PM
So you're using a 0411 PCM to run a TPI system with harness/sensors suitable for the PCM...?

joecar
December 27th, 2013, 12:58 PM
Also, for general tuning, see posts #4 and #29 here: Summary-Notes (http://forum.efilive.com/showthread.php?14188-Summary-Notes)

JordanSBC427
December 27th, 2013, 03:52 PM
Thank you, and no problem.