PDA

View Full Version : Duramax EGR block using EFILive?

asm
April 26th, 2014, 05:20 AM
I'm a complete noob to the diesel tuning, or actually car tuning in general. So, this question may be stupid to many of you.

I have been playing the the demo version of EFILive tune for Duramax. I noticed EGR can be control by ECM. With that in mind, wouldn't it possible to 'block" EGR by simply command the EGR to be close at all time?

Thanks

dansdieselp
April 27th, 2014, 02:19 AM
Yes. Minimum temp 300* and Maximum temp -40* Don't disable the diagnostic/monitoring table.

asm
April 27th, 2014, 05:47 AM
Thanks for confirming it. This will save me the trouble of actually installing EGR blocking plate. :)

turbo_bu
April 28th, 2014, 03:16 AM
Yes. Minimum temp 300* and Maximum temp -40* Don't disable the diagnostic/monitoring table.

Why shouldn't you disable the diagnostic / monitoring table? I have only tuned an LLY which had EGR, and I think I turned those off when I disabled EGR (it's been a while).

dansdieselp
April 28th, 2014, 10:14 AM
Cause with out monitoring it allows the valve to free float. Truck will surge with out a blocker plate in then. LBZ-LMM

drboom
April 16th, 2015, 12:21 AM

I've had to reflash the stock program in my 06 lbz duramax in order to pass emissions obdii check. Inspectors tell me the engine misfire and egr flow should be supported, but my scan still shows both NOT SUPPORTED. Could this be due to a disabled diagnostic/monitoring table? How would I check that and reverse it?

Thanks

TFZ_Z06
May 6th, 2015, 05:11 PM
I've had to reflash the stock program in my 06 lbz duramax in order to pass emissions obdii check. Inspectors tell me the engine misfire and egr flow should be supported, but my scan still shows both NOT SUPPORTED. Could this be due to a disabled diagnostic/monitoring table? How would I check that and reverse it?

Thanks