PDA

View Full Version : GMPP LS3 ECU Reprogramming questions (noob)

toedrag
June 19th, 2014, 06:59 AM
Hi All,

I'm a complete tuning noob. I've spent some time trying to find answers to the following questions, but come up empty thus far. Hoping I came to the right place...

As I understand it, the GMPP LS3 ECU shares its HW platform with the OEM/non-GMPP equivalent ECU (not sure what year/model), and in the GMPP ECU OS, GMPP has disabled quite a few functions to make it easier for ppl to complete LS transplants.

What I noticed is that there are a few pertinent signals that do not get connected to the GMPP ECU, such as Oil temp and Fuel level to name two.

The questions for the community are:
1. Can EFILive HW/SW change the GMPP ECU programming in such a way so that signals like Oil Temp & Fuel level are processed and then accessible real time via OBDII devices (assuming the senders are connected to the ECU at the proper pins)?
2. If a non-GM sender is used for these signals, are there tables that can modified so that the ECU's processing of the signal is accurate?

What I'm trying to accomplish is to have relevant parameters be accessible through the OBDII i/f.

ACCLR8N
June 19th, 2014, 12:22 PM
Another noobs answer to your question is probably not. There are tables in every ECU that we just don't have access to. For instance in my E40 I don't have access to rescale the IAT input when I switched to an LS7 MAF sensor. The tables exist but are not supported. Conversely the fuel density scalar as used by my dash to compute MPG was also not supported. Someone with skills well beyond me had cracked that one on their own and shared a CAX file with me.

toedrag
June 19th, 2014, 03:04 PM
Gah, bummer. Maybe I can find someone locally with a Tech2. Thx for the info.

Taz
June 20th, 2014, 06:44 AM
... What I noticed is that there are a few pertinent signals that do not get connected to the GMPP ECU, such as Oil temp and Fuel level to name two.