PDA

View Full Version : How to tune A40 Allison properly

TheDieselShopLLC
July 27th, 2016, 11:11 AM
Guys I'm new to the EFI Live game. Trying to tune an A40 Allison 6 speed TCM and its not letting me. the truck is a 2006 LLY engine with LBZ controllers and trans etc. Its shifting out of 1st into 2nd really hard and when I come to a stop it goes into 4th gear and stays in it till I shut it off. How do I do these procedures? How do I even get it back to stock? Everytime I go to full flash it gives me a "Script exited with code $054C: Operating System is not present in file". and that's it. PLEASE HELP!

THEFERMANATOR
July 27th, 2016, 03:20 PM
Whats been done so far? Have you made any changes to the TCM yet? Most don't bother messing with the TCM as you can do some SERIOUS damage adjusting TCM parameters in a HURRY. Sounds to me like you have some internal problems as even a built trans should shift just fine on stock tuning.

TheDieselShopLLC
July 27th, 2016, 03:57 PM
All I have done is CalFresh the TCM but I may have messed it up I need to find a stock tune I think to return it back to stock because I can't get my reflash from my tuner to work I can't get it to do a full flash so now it's just not shifting and running right so I think what I need to do is get a stock tune and return it to stock

TheDieselShopLLC
July 27th, 2016, 03:58 PM
All I have done is CalFlash the TCM but I may have messed it up I need to find a stock tune I think to return it back to stock because I can't get my reflash from my tuner to work I can't get it to do a full flash so now it's just not shifting and running right so I think what I need to do is get a stock tune and return it to stock

THEFERMANATOR
July 28th, 2016, 02:26 PM
So you changed parameters in the TCM already? If so, what has been changed? If you alter shift timing, you can DESTROY an ALLISON in just a couple of shifts if you go to far with it.

TheDieselShopLLC
July 29th, 2016, 05:50 AM