PDA

View Full Version : Noob question L99 tuning

StrokedVette385
March 8th, 2017, 09:59 AM
Whats up guys, hoping someone can help me out here. I work as a tech on boats, have a very good understand and vast knowledge of PIDs, how they work etc. My wife just got 1 7/8 LT headers, Hi flow cats and cat back exhaust. So basically a full system. Car also has a CAI. I tuned the T43 Trans with EFI Live pretty good, changing shift pressure by 5% for now with some minor trial and error. My main concern is the E38 ECM. Car is a 2010 L99 Camaro. I disabled AFM and Torque Management and Also Pulled fuses 5 & 20 Overnight and Copied the High Octane Spark Table to the Low table. Car only runs on 93 anyway. I ordered the serial wideband kit for the Car but havent installed it yet. Im looking for some insight on what tables to mod for the CAI and for the Headers. Im assuming Adjusting LTFTs. Anyone give me some advice here. thanks

ScarabEpic22
March 8th, 2017, 12:07 PM
Only do the high->low spark table copy for tuning, once you're happy with the spark table, take 4-6* out and stick that in the low so you wont actually have it ping if you get bad gas or get stuck somewhere where you cant get 93 (had this happen to me before, not fun).

Once you get your WBO2 installed, you'll want to play with spark, VVE, and MAF. Go pure MAF and dial the MAF curve in, then go full SD and dial the VVE in. Turn the blend back on and tweak if needed. As far as spark goes, start with 2* increase in the main load areas and monitor for knock. Slowly bump it up until you get KR, then back off 2*. Will be close, best way is to use a dyno and figure out what the best TQ is at a given RPM/load breakpoint and give the engine that spark value. Not all of us are that lucky, so adding a few degrees here and there until it knocks, then back off a bit. Look at the VVE Guide in the Tutorials section for a bit more on VVE tuning.

StrokedVette385
March 8th, 2017, 02:08 PM